Just mah eatz

by Alexandra

Okay, I’ll admit it; I have a fear of chia seeds.

I guess it’s not really a fear, they just creep me out. They absorb water and form creepy slime, they are crunchy little bits that don’t crunch at all, and they kind of look like bugs.

I eat them in my oatmeal pretty much every day, but that is usually it. I’ve mixed them into an oat/yogurt recipe and I might have thrown them into baked goods at some point in time, but never, ever have I eaten them plain or in a food that they were a main ingredient.

That is…until today:

I had never had full-fat coconut milk until recently, either. The thing about coconut milk is you have to use it within two days of opening a can, which meant that I had a lot of coconutting to do when I decided to pour some on my oatmeal. In any case, I mixed 1 tablespoon of chia seeds with 2 tablspoons of coconut milk from the fridge (so it was cold) and after about 10 minutes+stirring frequently, the mixture was very thick, very coconutty, very rich and very delicious! I’ll bet it would be delicious on oatmeal, but it would probably melt and become very runny. Maybe as an ice cream topper? I don’t know. I like it with a spoon, but then again, that’s the only way I’ve ever had it.

Coconut milk oats are delicious! + pumpkin seeds, dried mango and dried strawberries.

Suzie likes coconut, too.

-Alexandra

