Do the ice cream!

by Alexandra

Remember yesterday when I told you that I was experimenting with chocolate-banana ice cream? Well, it worked! I still have some work to do in terms of improving the flavor, texture and richness (I want to achieve the “ice cream” status and not just frozen-banana-deliciousness, ja?) but for the most part, the basic properties are perfect!

Really all I did was blend four bananas with 1/3 cup cocoa powder, 3/4 cup almond milk, 1/4 teaspoon each of xanthan gum and guar gum, and then pour the whole lot into the ice cream maker. When it became too thick to mix anymore, I scooped it into a plastic container and put it in the freezer. It ended up scoopable and banana-licious, which is exactly what I was going for.

Next time I think I’m going to add some sugar or maple syrup to make it sweeter and use coconut milk instead of almond milk to make it richer. I know coconut milk is on my “forbidden” list but I’d assume it is less offensive than wheat, right? I suppose we will find out. If not, I might just ADD almond butter (or peanut butter? yum!) to the mix for the richness. However, my hope is that coconut milk will be alright. It is pretty low in sugar, anyway. Did you know that coconut is actually a fruit? So is avocado! I found that very interesting…

I think one of the major difficulties with my new diet plan will be finding a suitable alternative to real ice cream. I am an ice cream addict. I love the stuff, and with this horrifyingly hot and humid weather we’re having, I feel like I NEED something cold and sweet to ice down and enjoy myself. I don’t do well in the heat.

I tried this chili-fruit popsicle at a party I attended. The bars are apparently a discontinued item from Trader Joe’s, but they are gluten free and vegan, meaning that they suit my diet well, although mango is technically “forbidden.” I’m not doing so well with following the rules to a T, but if I feel okay, it’s fine, right? I suppose my stomach will let me know when I’m not doing things right.

-Alexandra

