Dear Colon:

by Alexandra

All things go. I don’t mind. It’s alright and stuff.

I will just have to make some ch-ch-ch-changes and stuff.

So…what’s the story?

Well, I have to jump on that whole gluten-free bandwagon. I have always been skeptical of the gluten-free idea because it seems to be becoming a fad-diet in a sense, and people who don’t really need to “go gluten-free” seem to be doing so in the name of weight loss…even though it doesn’t quite make sense to me because many gluten-free options of foods are higher in calories than their gluten-laden counterparts. I never experimented with gluten-free in the past because the LAST thing I need to do is fool around with restricting my diet.

However, over the past couple of months I’ve been having a lot of “stomach death,” as I call it. Stomach death, for me, consists of any uncomfortable combination of bowel irregularity/abnormality, cramping, painful gas, nausea, fatigue, etc. So I went to the doctor, had some tests done, and it turned out that things weren’t looking so hot up in my GI area. My fecal occult blood test came back positive which indicated some sort of internal bleeding. I was referred to a gastroenterologist who scheduled an appointment for me to get “scoped” and they took a good look at my colon (along with a few biopsies, the results of which have not yet come back) and said I have what is called “tortuous colon.” In layman’s terms, one could say it thusly: “Colon big, me small.” Hence, my colon has some extra loopiness to it.

This is how a normal person’s colon looks:

This is how my colon looks:

According to Mr. GI dude, this has made digestion pretty difficult over the years. After doing some more reading I learned that not eating regularly (ex: sometimes eating very, very little, sometimes eating much more) stresses the colon and this combined with the already difficult digestion process from my tortuous colon led to the development of irritable bowel syndrome which is what I was diagnosed with. As per the doctor’s recommendations, I am supposed to stray away from lactose and gluten along with some other known bowel irritants such as artificial sweeteners, certain types of fructose, “artificial fiber” like inulin, and certain vegetables such as cruciferous ones.

I also was prescribed a pro-biotic for at least four weeks and this one medication to reduce GI spasms which I’m not going to take because the side effects look a little sketchy.

So what does this mean for the blog?

Be on the look out for more delicious gluten-free and lactose-free recipes! I have some experimenting to do before I go off to college in August.

-Alexandra

