Fro-foam

by Alexandra

Once upon a time (read: yesterday) I tried to make ice cream.

As is the case with many of my culinary pursuits, it was an epic fail. However, it was a very delicious and tasty epic fail. Rather than ice cream, I got yummy, vanilla frozen foam.

’twas quite tasty, especially with a snickerdoodle blondie and some chocolate sauce (EZ: cocoa powder + maple syrup or agave) which made for a mambo Sundae.

Of course, it paled in comparison to this, though:

Froyo fo-sho. Chocolate+tart with almonds, raspberries and oreos (my fave) = die

My fro-foam’s voluminous properties can be largely attributed to the addition of guar gum and xanthan gum. I think the next time I make this I will reduce the amounts (hopefully yielding a denser product) or maybe use greek yogurt instead of milk. I saw a Good Eats episode once where Alton Brown used “yogurt cheese” which is essentially Strained Greek Yogurt to make froyo and it looked really good. Tart is my favorite flavor anyway, because it is so creamy and milky.

Vanilla Fro-Foam
2-4 tablespoons brown sugar
stevia drops (optional)
2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/2 teaspoon guar gum
milk (I used 1% cow’s milk)
 
Combine sugar, stevia, vanilla and gums in a large measuring cup, add enough milk to equal 2 cups and whisk, to combine. Pour into a (completely frozen) ice cream maker and whip/stir/”cream/etc until product holds its shape well and is the consistency of soft-serve (foamy) ice cream. Transfer to containers and freeze completely.
 

-Alexandra

