Banana Dump Bread

by Alexandra

Sometimes, I’m a good little baker. I measure and smooth and mix carefully. Other times, I just dump. I just toss things into the bowl, cross my fingers and hope for the best.

Left: Banana dump bread

Right: Banana bread (via recipe)

However…

 It turned out dense and moist, and it pairs PERFECTLY with peanut butter. No monkey business up in here! I swear, PB+nana is a match made in heaven.

It actually looks nice, too. It’s a little flat, but you already know that my real name is Flatty McFlatterton and my specialty is flat baked goods.

In any case, this banana bread was good. I like adding raisins or walnuts for a little extra flavor and texture.

*Disclaimer: this is dump bread which means that the following measurements are estimates!

Banana Bread
3 really ripe bananas
1/4 cup butter, softened (I think I used 2-3 T of yogurt butter and 2 T of walnut oil)
1/3 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 T vanilla extract
1/2 t salt
1/2 cup sour cream
1-1/2 cups flour (I used oat)
1 t baking powder
1/2 cup raisins
1 t cinnamon
 
Dump first 7 ingredients into a mixer and mix on high until thoroughly incorporated. Add 1/2 cup flour, mix well. Sprinkle in baking powder, mix a bit, add the rest of the flour, and mix until just moistened. Add raisins and cinnamon and stir once or twice. Pour into a greased bread pan and bake at 350 degrees for 1/2 hour, then reduce temperature to 325 degrees for another 1/2 hour.
 

-Alexandra

