Lucky Sunday No. 7

by Alexandra

“JUST FOR TODAY: I will gather the courage to do what is right and take the responsibility for my own actions.”

Week 12345: 6

Doesn’t that just make you feel like crawling under a rock? I mean yes, we hear things like that all the time but thinking about actually taking responsibility for failures, lies, let-downs, mistakes — it’s pretty daunting.

I could easily name a handful of things I should take responsibility for that I just plain haven’t yet! But once we do, it feels so good! For example, I just wrote a ten-page research paper that was literally plaguing my consciousness every day for a month. I knew I had to write it, and I knew it would take 6+ hours, but I just kept putting it off and putting it off. Finally, I bit the bullet and devoted most of yesterday to doing it and I cannot even describe how refreshed I feel. It’s amazing!

So, if you need to reconcile with someone, write an obnoxiously long paper, admit a shortcoming or clean up a big mess you made, do it! You will feel better, other involved parties will feel better, and you just might decrease the entropy of the universe! (ha!)

Happy Sunday!

-Alexandra

