Chocolate Chip Blueberry Scones

by Alexandra

 I saw this picture on pinterest and they looked so good. But, the little logo in the bottom left corner made me a little sad — these are “wannabe scones,” lacking real ingredients in normal amounts. You all know how I feel about “skinny” recipes, so I had to make my own.

Good life decision.

I am a huge fan of scones. I recently had an orange one at Panera and have been craving them ever since. When I saw that picture from skinnytaste, it just pushed me over the edge and I made my own.

The thing about scones (and shortbread cookies, actually) is they don’t like greased cookie sheets! I didn’t have any parchment paper left so I just used a quick spray of oil, but the dough kind of dissolves in the oil and spreads a bit, yielding burned edges. They crumbled off easily so it was no big deal, but if you have parchment paper, use it!

Chocolate Chip Blueberry Scones
2-1/2 cups flour (I use a mixture of ww pastry and oat)
2-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup butter, cold, cubed
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
1/2 cup dried blueberries
 
 Mix flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and cinnamon with a whisk. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Pour in buttermilk, chocolate and blueberries and mix well (about 5 minutes) Pat dough into 2 disks (about 8-in diameter) on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and prick with a fork into 16 wedges. Bake for 18-20 minutes in a 400 degree oven. 
 
Cool, cut and serve with tea!
 

Alexandra

