“JUST FOR TODAY:

by Alexandra

I will do something positive to improve my health. If I’m a smoker, I’ll quit. If I am overweight, I will eat healthfully — if only for today. And not only that, I will get off the couch and take a brisk walk, even if it’s only around the block.”

I don’t think I like that very much.

So we’ll change it, ja?

“JUST FOR TODAY: I will do something positive to improve my health. If I’m a smoker, I’ll quit. I will eat healthfully — today and every day. I will exercise moderation and have my cake and eat it, too.  Not only that, I will get some fresh air, walk the dog (or some friends), even if it’s only around the block. I’ll have a good conversation to let off stress and build my relationships. I’ll take a moment to count my blessings. Just for today, I will smile, because I am doing something good for my health: mental, physical and emotional.”

Much better, non?

If you ask me, that other “meditation” was just a bunch of scheiße.  Ja?

Everybody should eat healthfully, not just people who are overweight! Not to mention, not all overweight people are unhealthy. Did you know that Michael Phelps is overweight? But, he’s like 110% muscle. Muscle weighs a lot more than fat.  I am living proof of this. Over the past 3 or 4 months, I’ve been lifting weights like a champ and loving me some protein. I gained about 10 pounds. CRAZY! Except all of my clothes still fit me, and some of them are even looser in areas than they used to be. I’m nowhere near overweight, but those extra 10 pounds only made me stronger and healthier.

Also, couches are good. I don’t like the connotation that they have. “Get off the couch and go for a walk.” Oh, shut up! I walk because I like walking! I like to breathe fresh air, smell the rain, look at flowers (and dead leaves…) and nature. It’s pretty and makes me feel good. Don’t exercise because you feel like you should, or you feel like you need to burn some calories. That just creates a terrible cycle that drives you into a disordered oblivion. Move to move. Do it because you want to. If you don’t like it, then don’t do it! Find something you do like.

Life is about going with the flow. If you want to run in this snow monster, then good for you! Do it because you want to. I, on the other hand, did not want to. Instead, I shoveled the driveway, built a snow man and had a snow ball fight with one of my best friends.

That = exercise. You’d be surprised how many calories you burn just by laughing, playing, and having fun. If exercising stresses you out, then stop it! That’s not how it’s supposed to work.

Happy Sunday!

Week 1: 2: 3: 4: 5

-Alexandra

