Enchiladas Verde

by Alexandra

I kind of hate blogging about dinner food because the lighting is never good and my pictures always turn out looking like shittake mushrooms. It’s such a bummer!  I was going to pass on posting this recipe, but it turned out so well that I just couldn’t bring myself to.

Granted, I didn’t “home make” all of it; I used store-bought tortillas and sauce from a jar, so this is really more of a “method” of making enchiladas, but whichever. They are yummy. Maybe one day I’ll make my own verde sauce, but for now, the store-bought kind works just fine.

They look much nicer in the oven.

By nature, enchiladas kind of look like vomit, right? So it’s not just my enchiladas?

Don’t forget the hot peppers! I actually started sweating because I ate so many of these, but it’s so worth it. I’m a spicy food junkie!

Enchiladas Verde
1 (10 ct) package whole wheat fajita-style tortillas
1 (8oz package) grated extra sharp cheddar cheese
2 (12-14 oz) cans verde sauce
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts
oregano, garlic powder, cumin, salt and pepper
 
Lightly pound the chicken, sprinkle with spices and cook on the grill. Chop into cubes and layer with cheese onto the tortillas. Roll up the tortillas and line up in a 9×13 inch baking dish, pour verde sauce on top and bake in a 400 degree oven for about 30 minutes, or until sauce is boiling and cheese is very melted. Serve with hot peppers, salsa, sour cream or more cheese. 
 

-Alexandra

