Evolution

by Alexandra

My apologies:

On Saturday, I changed the URL of my blog without warning. Now it’s https://anditslikeflying.wordpress.com/

So, if you like to visit my blog, or the previous URL was in your google reader, you should probably change it! I am pretty sure that wordpress redirects subscriptions but I am not sure. In any case, I am alerting you now, even though it probably might have made more sense to tell you before I changed it.

So — why did I do it?

“Whole life balance” just didn’t really describe me or the goal of my blog anymore. I changed the “title” back in September (or was it October?) because was changing, my life was changing, and the goals of my life were changing.

I first started blogging on January 2nd, 2010 after I made pizza.

The pizza was pretty good, if I remember correctly, but my life back then was incredibly different from what it is now. In terms of food, I liked to butcher recipes and take all the “bad” stuff (read: cheese, oil, meat, white flour, etc). I called it “healthifying.”

I made “black bean brownies” because I wanted real brownies, and convinced myself that they were just as good. They weren’t.

Slowly I started to realize that low calorie does not equate to healthy, and that being a skinny-minni does not equate to being attractive. My perception of the food-consumer relationship slowly started to change, and I began opting for more holistic food items, like local, organic produce and sort of “macrobiotic” ingredients.

I changed the name of my blog to “Whole Life Balance” inspired by wholeliving.com and began “operating” accordingly.

I still made pizza, but I used more cheese (yay) and actually “lightly oiled” the bowl for the dough.

I don’t really know how or when things started to change again, but somehow, I started appreciating the food experience more than what, exactly I was eating. Fried food is good. Sugar is wonderful. I like bagels.

I actually think I’m in love with bagels. Is it possible to marry them? Because I think I want to. Thomas is a pretty great guy, too. He makes some darn good bagels with sugar and fake blueberries and white flour. And those people in Philadelphia? They make some darn good cream cheese.

You see, I don’t really care much if the blueberries in my blueberry bagel are real or if they are merely “blueberry flavored product.” I don’t care if there are 11 grams of sugar, because I like sugar. I like it a lot! And, now that I can look past the corn syrup in my bagel, I can see that despite being made with cornmeal and white flour, there are 9 grams of protein and 3 grams of fiber. How does that even work?

I don’t really care. It tastes good, and when I’m hungry and under-caffeinated, I don’t really care what the hell is in my bagel, I just want it in mah belly. Stat.

Sometime last year, between March and May, I started to find happiness. I realized that even if my environment isn’t so great, I have to power to change my appraisal of the situation. And so, I gave up being a control freak. I started to breathe and pray and go with the flow, and eat processed food and run less and do more yoga, and see my friends more and write run-on-sentences, and paint my nails and smile and go out of my way to be nice to people, and live with a purpose other than eating as “clean” as possible.

And as a result, my life started to fly by. I stopped waiting for “it” to be over and started enjoying the process. I laughed and played and stopped caring about silly things.

So, that is that. It’s like flying, and I like it.

-Alexandra

