Acceptance: yourself and others

by Alexandra

Hello again. It’s Sunday, so it’s time to be positive again. Do you ever feel like it’s exhausting trying to be happy all the time? It certainly feels like that for me, and on the occasion, I just feel like bitching about everything. Yes, it’s highly unproductive and just makes me feel worse, but in those instances, I don’t even care. Nobody’s happy all the time, right? #rationalization

In any case, life is a lot more fun when I am happy. So, that’s why I blog about being happy and positive (and such) on Sundays.

Here we go:

“JUST FOR TODAY: I will make a conscious effort to be agreeable. I will be kind and courteous to those who cross my path, and I’ll not speak ill of others. I will improve my appearance, speak softly, and not interrupt when someone else is talking.

Just for today, I will refrain from improving anybody but myself.”

Week 1; week 2; week 3; week 4

Yikes — that one is pretty convicting. Thinking about the rationalization behind judgement of other people, it’s pretty obvious that I merely project my own insecurities. Some of the things that really tick me off about others are things that I fear that I do myself. Sometimes seeing other people being and doing what I don’t want to be or do makes me feel a little self-righteous. How backwards is that?. When I judge or condemn others, I become a complete hypocrite; I’m probably guilty of every single “sin” I see others commit, and stained with the very same flaws. Who am I to point a finger?

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

-Matthew 7:3-5

I think I like this Matthew guy. He seems to know what he’s talking about.

Happy Sunday!

-Alexandra

