Happy Valentine’s Day!

by Alexandra

What kind of treats are you making? I hope they involve chocolate.

I made cream cheese custard cups and chocolate truffles. I actually altered this truffle recipe and I think they turned out better! So I’m going to change the link on my recipe page.

These truffles are naughty, but they’re so darn good. The crazy thing is that they’re healthy, because they don’t taste like “health food.” And they’re not creepy, either. They don’t have artificial sweeteners or like, wheat bran, but they’re still good for you! The secret is dried fruit and real cocoa.

Cocoa actually has a bajillion antioxidants, so Valentine’s day is actually a heart-healthy holiday! hahahaha.

If you need more chocolatey treat ideas, try Strawberries ‘n’ Cream Cookies, Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Cake, Sugar Baby Sugar Cookies or French Silk Pie!

Meanwhile, I’m going to eat a whole batch of chocolate truffles…okay, maybe not the whole batch…

Dark Chocolate Truffles
2/3 cup prunes
1/4 cup pitted dates
3 tbs pure maple syrup
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
sprinkles, cocoa, coconut or nuts for rolling
 
Combine the prunes, dates, chocolate chips and maple syrup in a food processor. Add cocoa powder and process until completely combined. Remove “dough” and pat together into a dense ball. Divide into 1-inch balls (they are less sticky if you wet your hands a bit) and roll in sprinkles, cocoa, coconut or nuts. Store in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks, but I promise they won’t last that long.
 

-Alexandra

