Sunday Meditation

by Alexandra

“JUST FOR TODAY: I will improve my mind. I will read something that requires effort, thought and concentration. I will not be a mental loafer.”

For previous weeks: one, two, three

What do you do to keep your mind active?

It doesn’t need to be something intellectual. Mental activity can be anything that improves your cognitive vitality. Exercise, consideration or contemplation all count. Sometimes, it’s even better to take a mental “break.” Removing oneself from a trying situation has been shown to have extremely positive effects on attitudes and appraisals.

For some, a good think may be the solution to anxiety.

For others, a good unthink is the solution.

I definitely fall into the latter category. I often find that I think way too much. I always have a million and one thoughts racing through my mind, causing my to choke, stutter and stumble. Usually I need a mental break. It helps a lot to just take a moment to actively pump negative thoughts out of my consciousness. Then again, sometimes reading can provide a means for me to do that.

I think this meditation inspires people to focus on their thought processes. Maybe one needs a break, or maybe a little stimulation. Whatever it be, do what you need to do to keep your spirits up!

Happy Sunday!

-Alexandra

