Sweet Potato Pancakes

by Alexandra

I love sweet potatoes, so even though I’m not a huge, huge pancake fan, when I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it. Best decision ever.

Yum, yum, yum.

I left out the chocolate chips for some unknown reason. I don’t know, I just wasn’t feeling them. But other than that, the only other change was that I added some cinnamon to the batter. Therefore, I pretty much followed the recipe to a  “T” which is a huge accomplishment for me. I have this weird inability to follow recipes. I start changing things and all of a sudden I’ve completely altered the recipe and what I post ends up being “loosely based on…”

This morning I was pretty successful. I think I get an A for effort.

Sweet Potato Pancakes from Eat, Live Run
1/2 large sweet potato, baked, peeled and mashed
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup milk
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)
 
Combine ingredients in a bowl and mix until just combined. Pour 1/4-cupfuls onto a hot non-stick pan and cook for about 2 minutes on each side, or until golden and cooked through. Serve hot, with maple syrup and butter.
 

Yumnuts.

-Alexandra

