Sunday

by Alexandra

Do you think the “week” starts on Sunday or Monday? I like to think it starts on Sunday because I go to church, I feel refreshed, I read my weekly meditation on positivity and I can start off well. Who doesn’t want to start their week off on a good note?

Week 1 : Week 2

Here’s the third weekly positive meditation:

“JUST FOR TODAY: I will accept what is. I will face reality. I will correct those things that I can correct and accept those I cannot.”

This reminds me of a prayer I learned when I was little.

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

There are so many times in life when everything seems to be going wrong, or somebody else’s life appears so much better. Maybe you’re thinking, “If only I could just ___________. Then I would be happy.” But part of living a balanced and wholesome life is accepting imperfections, moving beyond difficult times and knowing what is and isn’t worth dwelling on.

You can’t always change things about yourself or your life and you certainly can’t change other people, but you can change the way you appraise a situation. A peaceful mind leads to a peaceful heart.

I am 100% guilty of racing my mind at one hundred miles per minute, causing myself unnecessary anxieties, over-thinking things and stressing myself out. On most of these occasions, all I need to do is take a couple really deep breaths and just stop thinking. Some things just aren’t worth mulling over because I can’t change them.

Forget the past, step back from the future and just live in the present moment. Life is a lot easier that way.

-Alexandra

P.S. Are you watching the Super Bowl? I’m watching the commercials!

