Sunday, Being Positive…and such

by Alexandra

Last Sunday, I shared the first of seven positive meditations that were in the Sunday paper on the first of the year.

Here’s the second:

“JUST FOR TODAY: I will be happy. I will not dwell on thoughts that depress me. If my mind fills with clouds, I will chase them away and fill it with sunshine.”

Pretty powerful stuff, huh?

I know that in terms of happiness, attitude is extremely important. (In psychology, this is a really big idea.) Yesterday I wrote about the power of the self, and this Sunday’s meditation really reflects that concept. Who is in control? You and God, me and God, etc…

 

I’ve pretty much given up on trying to be “normal” for someone my age because I’m pretty sure that’s never going to happen. Dwelling on my idiosyncrasies just depresses me and I’ve learned to chase those thoughts away. I am what I am, I’m content with it (somehow) and I’m pretty sure that today is as good as it will ever get. There’s no point in living for tomorrow or dwelling on yesterday.

Be present in all of your moments.

Have a wonderful Sunday!

-Alexandra

