Let’s be honest (Asian-style)

by Alexandra

I love cooking, I really do. I love to cook food, eat food, be around food, bathe in food (just kidding!) and just talk about food. [read: hence, my blog]

However, sometimes I just don’t feel like cooking. I want food to be cooked for me. I want to sit down and just have something delicious appear on my plate because I’m too darn tired to deal with washing and peeling and chopping and cooking and serving and photographing, etc.

Yesterday was one of those days, and despite my gut instinct to be lazy and order China Garden like I should have, I crabbed around the kitchen and washed and peeled and chopped and cooked and made my own freakin’ “Chinese food” when I just should have ordered in.

Sometimes, you’ve just got to order in.

However,  me + crabbiness + lots of washing, peeling, chopping and cooking usually does not = a legitimate recipe and consequently, I just chucked a bunch of chopped veggie nonsense into the pot with soy sauce and such and just cooked it so I could eat already!

When you stir-fry, do you just ‘wing it’ or do you use a recipe?

Veggie action included scallions, onions, garlic, bok choy, mushrooms, broccoli, carrots and snow peas.

Sauciness consisted of some sort of mixture of soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil, corn starch, chicken broth, ground ginger and crushed red pepper flakes.

Hence, I do not have a recipe today. But this, this, and this are all Asian, delicious and recipe-like if you are interested.

Oh — and did you know that the Chinese New Year started on January 23rd? We are now in the year of the Dragon. Cool! Dragons make me think of Shrek.

-Alexandra

