Mild Dinners

by Alexandra

Sometimes when I don’t eat on a regular schedule, I get horrid stomach aches that leave me glued to the bed with a hot water bottle, a bowl of Tums and some ginger tea. I don’t know what causes it, but somehow my GI gets all out of whack and it’s really painful.

Luckily I had a nice, soothing dinner waiting for me!

 [leftover chicken, roasted brussel sprouts, tomato salad, boiled quinoa]

The flavors are mild, but work really well together. This meal is not at all bland, but it’s nice an easy on an upset stomach.

Easy, colorful and delicious. These tomatoes, “brown tomatoes” are really cool. I’ve heard of yellow, green and (obviously) red, but brown?  They are yummy and a nice change of pace.

Balsamic Tomato Salad
2 cups chopped fresh tomatoes
1 small onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1 tablespoon lemon juice
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
 
Combine all ingredients in a bowl and allow to rest for at least 3 hours. Serve chilled over cooked grains, salad, or serve as a side-dish.
 

-Alexandra

