Feta Stuffed Chicken Breast

by Alexandra

This recipe was taken from The Ski House Cookbook, aka my favorite book of recipes, ever.

I usually don’t even follow recipes, but the fact that I’ve used 5+ recipes from this book says a lot.

Bad lighting; icky daylight savings time makes it hard to take photos!

 I made this Feta Stuffed Chicken Breast with pierogi and broccoli rabe. I love pierogi and it makes me feel close to my Polish roots (I’m 100% Polish!) but interestingly, for as much as I cook, I’ve never made it myself. I think my aunt homemade it once, but I was really young and don’t remember at all. My favorite pierogi brand is Kashia’s and that’s the type my family usually uses. It goes well with this chicken dish, and the strong flavor of the rappini.

I doubled the recipe so I could bring some to my grandma. She’s feeling under the weather, so my dad went to bring her some dinner and pick up her prescriptions and groceries.

This recipe typically only makes 4 chicken breasts, but since I doubled it, there were 8. They’re HUGE, so I’d say this dish would feed about 6 people, unless you’re opposed to serving sliced chicken.

Feta Stuffed Chicken Breasts
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 ounces feta cheese
4 garlic cloves, minced
zest of 1/2 lemon
4 tbs EVOO
1 tbs dried oregano
salt/pepper
1.5 tbs white balsamic vinegar (or apple cider vinegar)
1/3 cup low-sodium chicken broth
1-1/2 tbs butter (I omitted)
 
1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F, crumble cheese and combine with garlic, lemon and 2 tbs oil
2) Use a sharp knife to make a 2-inch slit in the thicker side of each chicken breast. Don’t gut all the way through. Push 1/4 of the cheese mixture into each breast and close as well as possible
3) Heat remaining oil in a pan over high heat. Place chicken breasts in pan and cook for 4 minutes on each side. Then, transfer to a baking dish and bake for 25 minutes.
4) Remove chicken from the pan and set aside. Heat juices over medium-flame and add vinegar. Cook for 1 minute, scraping the bottomg of the pan with a spatula. Add broth and reduce the liquid by half, about 5 minutes. Turn off the heat and stir in the butter.
5) Plate the chicken and drizzle the sauce on top.
 

-Alexandra

