Crazy Indian Party

by Alexandra

Oh baby!

One of my plans for this year is to experiment with lots of new and different types of food. I tend to get stuck in “food ruts,” where I eat the same sort of foods day in and day out. My staples are oatmeal, spinach and eggs, but those get boring after a while! No matter how much I try to spruce them up with cheese, or fruit, or other veggies, etc, I just get bored some times. For a foodie, this is highly unacceptable! I need to get my creative juices flowing!

Well, this year is certainly off to a good start in terms of new foods. On new year’s day, for dinner, we had all kinds of cool middle-eastern and Indian-inspired dishes.

It was delicious! I was certainly cooking up a storm! I even cut up a whole fryer chicken by myself. Thankfully, I don’t have a weak stomach. [pictured: curried chicken atop naan, couscous salad, falafel with tatziki sauce]

The highlight of this meal for me was the naan. So soft and chewy and just downright yummy! I followed this recipe exactly and it was absolutely perfect. I loved it so much! I will be making it again and it is definitely one of my new favorite recipes!

I also really enjoyed the curried chicken. We haven’t had curry for a while. I’ve made curried chicken in the past but I just kind of threw some ingredients together like I usually do. I actually liked this version better! Yay for experimentation.

Curried Chicken Pieces
1 whole fryer, skinned, fat trimmed, rib cage removed and cut into chunks
1 large red onion, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 can lite coconut milk
1 can plain tomato sauce
1 can whole stewed tomatoes
2 tablespoons curry powder
2 tablespoons ground cumin
2 tablespoons granulated garlic powder
1 tablespoon black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
 
Heat the oil in a large, deep skillet. Add chicken chunks and onions and cook until chicken is nicely browned. Cover and continue to cook until chicken is just barely pink. Add remaining ingredients (it helps to combine the spices with the coconut milk, first) and bring to a boil. Reduce to medium-low heat and cook, uncovered, for 30-40 minutes until chicken is tender and sauce is thickened. Serve hot, with quinoa, rice, naan or another grain.
 

आनंद लें!

-Alexandra

