2012

by Alexandra

Happy New Year!

We celebrated with some movies, a gluten-free cookie cake, pumpkin ice cream and cool whip! It was yummy, fun, and a wonderful way to end twenty-eleven.

2012, here I come!

For this classic dessert favorite, I used a recipe loosely based off CCK’s Deep Dish Cookie Pie recipe.

My version used 1 can of pureed chickpeas, 1/3 cup pure maple syrup, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 1/4 cup melted coconut butter, 3/4 teaspoon baking powder, 1/8 teaspoon baking soda, 1/4 cup gluten-free flour, and 1/2 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips. The directions are similar to CCK’s.

I baked the pie in a 9-inch spring-form pan for 27 minutes at 375 degrees.

The icing is a blend of melted coconut butter, maple syrup, coconut milk, powdered sugar, vanilla extract and food coloring. I didn’t use any measurements, but it’s similar to buttercream frosting, only instead of dairy butter, I used coconut butter.

Vegan and Gluten-Free!

-Alexandra

