Don’t Fix it if it Ain’t Broke

by Alexandra

 I’m a huge fan of gingerbread cookies; they are my all-time favorite treat during the holidays, except for maybe this pie. I really liked my previous gingerbread cookie recipe, but I came across this one and it struck my eye. They were good! I subbed whole wheat pastry flour for all-purpose and added some extra spices. The only issue was that the dough was very sticky and had extra flour stuck on the top and bottom which made the cookies taste a bit papery after baking. Other than that, though, they were good. Gina’s frosting was really tasty, too. It didn’t run like mine, and had a mellower flavor. I enjoyed this recipe.

While I liked the recipe a lot, I’m a firm believer in real food and moderation, meaning that cookies should be cookie-like. Don’t take the fat out of cookies, because then they’re not cookie! They’re wanna-be cookies, and they aren’t nearly as fun. But, that’s just me.

Have a wonderful day!

-Alexandra

