Nutritional Yeast

by Alexandra

What is it?

Nutritional yeast is a deactivated yeast, usually Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Along with edible mushrooms, it is a fungus (Wikipedia.com)

Yellow in color and with a nutty cheesy flavor, nutritional yeast is an inactive yeast that is a favorite amongst many vegans because of its unique flavor and similarity to cheese when added to foods (About.com)

Why eat it?

Nutritional yeast provides a nutritious, cheesy flavor when added to foods. It’s vegan and contains 7 grams of complete protein in two tablespoons for only 60 calories. This serving size also provides B12, an essential vitamin that is usually only found in animal products like meat and dairy.

What does it taste like?

Well, it kind of tastes like the cheesy powder packet found in boxes of Mac ‘n’ Cheese.

My first ever nutritional yeast experience occurred at breakfast. I sprinkled some atop whole grain toast with tahini. The picture is terrible, but that’s because I was in a rush, and ended up being late anyways. The sacrifices I make for this blog…

Anyhow, I liked it a lot. If I could go back and change one thing, I’d add salt and pepper. The “nooch” definitely provides a cheesy taste but it doesn’t taste like cheese. With salt, though, it could get pretty close.

The verdict?

I like it!

-Alexandra

