Juste un autre biscuit

by Alexandra

I remember my first attempt at baking with black beans after seeing a feature in the Allrecipes.com baking newsletter. I was intrigued and excited to experiment, so I jumped into the kitchen an started cooking.

The result was good, but not great. I have definitely had better brownies than those black bean brownies I made. Over the past two years, “healthy eating” has become more of a holistic approach to nutrition, focusing on MUFAS, whole grains and all-natural, local, organic foods. I am no longer trapped in the mindset that “fat-free, low-calorie, low-sugar everything” is the road to health. It is, rather, an unhealthy mindset that yields foods that are pretty bland and pretty boring.

These brownies were, like I said, good. However, they did not taste like brownies.

These, however, do taste like the cookie they are supposed to. In fact, the version I made tastes great. The healthy ingredients are a wonderful bonus to a recipe that tastes amazing!

Peanut Butter Blondies:
Adapted from CCK
 
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
¾ tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tbs vanilla
1 tbs canola oil
¼ cup peanut flour (or other gluten-free flour or oats)
1/3 cup peanut butter
½ cup chocolate chips
 
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor, blend the chickpeas with the peanut butter, vanilla and maple syrup, ensuring that no bean-bits remain. Mix in the peanut flour , salt, baking soda and baking powder, then stir in the chocolate chips. Spread the mixture into a greased 8×8 inch baking dish, and bake in for 38 minutes. Cook completely before cutting into bars and serving. 
 
For each of nine bars, there are 6.5 grams of protein and 3 grams of fiber!
 

–  Alexandra
