Thai Sesame Noodles

by Alexandra

 I’m wondering, do you eat dinner as a family? We usually don’t unless it’s a weekend. When we do, though, it’s wonderful. I love sitting down and thanking God for food and for keeping me safe. It’s so comforting to sit down and share a good conversation with people that are important to me. Many times, the meal is a new experiment of mine, so in addition to part-taking in a meal, we are all experiencing something new.

Thai Sesame Noodles is one of those experiments and it definitely turned out! These noodles have colorful veggies and three different forms of sesame.

It’s been a while since I’ve attempted to use chopsticks. I’ll admit, I didn’t fare any better this time than I did the last, but it was still fun.

We really do have fun, over here. It’s stressful sometimes, but we all hang on.

I wonder how many Thai Sesame Noodles it would take to stretch a mile.

I wonder how long it would take to eat a mile of Thai Sesame Noodles with chopsticks. It’s too bad I’m not Asian…

Thai Sesame Noodles
 
1 box whole wheat thin spaghetti, cooked
1 bag frozen cooked shrimp with no shell (or 25-30 cooked)
1 yellow bell pepper, sliced julienne
1 red bell pepper, sliced julienne
1 carrots, peeled and sliced julienne
florets from 2 broccoli crowns
1.5 cups fresh green beans, trimmed and cut
1 cup frozen defrosted snow pea pods
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons sesame oil
 
2 tablespoons sesame tahini
1/4 cup soy sauce
3 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon cornstarch
 
toasted sesame seeds
 
     In a large frying pan or wok, heat the sesame oil. Add the carrots and cook for 2 minutes, then add the green beans and cook for an additional 4 minutes. Add the remaining vegetables and cook until tender. Add noodles and shrimp and keep over medium heat until hot throughout.
     Meanwhile, whisk together the tahini, soy sauce, water, vinegar and cornstarch. Pour over the food in the hot pan and stir. Cook for 3-5 minutes until sauce thickens. Serve hot, topped with toasted sesame seeds.
 

-Alexandra

 
 
