Practice

by Alexandra

Materialism has environmental impacts, and by rejecting it one can reach a greater level of happiness. Sharing with others is rewarding to both the “sharer” and the “sharee.” I promise.

 Size doesn’t matter. Even something as seemingly trivial as allowing your hungry boyfriend to demolish your own ice cream cone counts. I got a good laugh, he got a full belly, it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Share:

Becoming more selfless isn’t about denying your own self. This is a very common misconception. It’s actually important for emotional balance to treat oneself. But one of the easiest ways to give to others without taking away from your own satisfaction is to give what you already have, or to share. Remember, money doesn’t have to be involved!


Do you like sunflowers? Buy a package of seeds, plant them, and when the sprout, give a seedling to your neighbor.

Something I like to do when I want to “give a little” is the following exercise.

Give a little, Give a lot:

  1. Make a list of  5 things that make you really happy
  2. Share with people you love, right now.
Example:
  1. Running
  2. Chocolate Cake
  3. Dishes from Anthropologie (That store makes my anti-materialism efforts really difficult)
  4. My Grandma and my tea cup
  5. The book God Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo
So, I can:
  1. Invite my neighbor to Cross Country practice
  2. Bake a chocolate cake to share with friends
  3. Buy a pretty mug for my beautiful sister
  4. Pay an unplanned visit to my Grandma and serve her tea in my favorite cup
  5. Suggest the novel to a friend to read
It’s the little things that count.
I can’t buy someone a car, or provide for the homeless, but I can save a few pennies to buy a meal for someone needy, visit my Grandma, who loves me, and tell others about things that make me happy, in case they might make someone else happy as well. Try it, you’ll like it.
-Alexandra

 

