Like flying

feel it

Coco

My grandpa once told me that during WWII, he was stuck on an island (he flew airplanes) and all he ate for three whole months was coconuts. Now, I’m not quite sure about the validity of this statement, but it’s an interesting concept.

So many people, today, are extremely skeptical of saturated fat because of the whole obesity hype, thinking its consumption is like dooming oneself to over-the-top cholesterol, but this is false.

Coconuts are high in saturated fat, but the oil in these fruits is considered to be one of the healthiest foods on earth. Lauric acid constitutes about 40% of the triglycerides in coconut oil, which do not contribute to body fat because they are metabolized immediately by the liver and converted into energy. This means they don’t circulate around the bloodstream to be stored in fat deposits. Read more about it here.

Case in point: I really like coconuts and in my opinion, fresh is the way to go.

Just crack, peel, devour. It’s very simple, and I like simple.

-Alexandra

Pain aux bleuets et banane. le beurre de noix de cajou. café.

one of gourmets.

xx Alexandra