Wood Sorrel

by Alexandra

As an environmentalist, I place a fairly heavy emphasis on eating organic and local foods whenever I can. Because of this, I find a remarkable beauty in eating wild foods. The sour grapes of September, the black raspberries of July, and the wood sorrel of June are only a few of my woodland favorites here in the mid-West.

Actually, Wood Sorrel is available all summer! It can be found in your lawn among other patches of weeds, but it likes cooler and darker places, like the shade beneath pine trees. I found this particular bunch growing in the mulch in my front yard.

Wood sorrel is full of vitamins and minerals, especially Vitamin C and fiber. It has a slightly lemony, slight broccoli taste. All parts of the plant are edible, but the root is tough, as are the stems. The flowers don’t taste like much, but the little green seed pods are extremely tart and sour, but fun nonetheless!

Wood Sorrel makes a great addition to salads, adds a nice crispiness to sandwiches but also is yummy plain. I especially liked it on this raw pizza.

I suppose I can’t really call this raw because the whole wheat tortilla and cheeses have obviously been brought to a temperature higher than 118 degrees Fahrenheit, and pizza, by definition, has sauce on top, but I like to call this flat creation a raw pizza anyway because a) it is fun b) it is really yummy and c) i feel like it!

This raw pizza consisted of cream cheese and feta cheese crumbles on a whole wheat tortilla, with red bell peppers, sliced mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, fresh sage, fresh parsley, wood sorrel, dried basil and black pepper.

With a glass of green kombucha mixed with orange juice on the side, this raw pizza made a delicious and nutritious lunch! I love sun dried tomatoes! (and wood sorrel)

-Alexandra

