Hootenannies!

by Alexandra

It should not be any surprise to hear that breakfast is, by far, my favorite meal of the day! First of all, I love to eat, and I especially love to eat nourishing breakfast foods! Petit déjeuner est, et sera toujours, monamour.

This morning, pour rompre le jeûne, we gobbled up some hootenannies! They were just as delicious as they look, and while we didn’t have whipped cream or fresh berries, apple butter with peaches and cinnamon made a delicious topping.

This breakfast was as full of sunshine flavor as the beautiful morning. Is anybody else loving the weather? Last week it was in the 90’s by noon, but this week has been gloriously in the mid-70’s. The weather is perfect if you ask me!

That’s exactly why we’re spending more and more time making new breakfasts up in the kitch’ (we love oatmeal and all, but that’s like the go-to, no-time breakfast), painting our toenails crazy colors and gobbling up harry potter books like nobody’s business.

Who can say no to Harry Potter and painted toenails? Now, I’ve never been good at the whole pedicure business, but it’s still fun, and what beats a good read out in the summer sun, huh?

So with my belly full (and happy) and my toenails looking quite splendid if I do say so myself, I’m off to bask in the great outdoors. Perhaps a bike ride and an ice cream cone should be in order, yes?

Before I go, here’s the recipe for yummy hootenannies! from the little red house.

Hootenannies!
 
9 eggs
1-1/2 cups gluten-free or whole wheat pastry flour
1-1/2 cups (non-dairy)  milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
 
Mix all ingredients in a blender until combined, then pour into a greased 9×13 inch pan and bake on the bottom rack of a preheated 425-degree oven for 20 minutes. They will rise a lot, so be sure they are on the bottom rack without any obstructions!
 
*For only one or two servings, I used 2 eggs, 1/3 cup each of milk and flour and a pinch of salt. I baked it in a 4×8 inch pyrex dish.

-Alexandra

