défis, challenges

by Alexandra

Do you ever find yourself having fallen into the “I can’t” mindset? Something is either too hard, too advanced, overly time-consuming, requires too much concentration, makes you feel uncomfortable, or demands so much mental strength that it would be positively draining?

Two years ago, I would have never believed I could run sixteen miles all at once, but last Sunday I did just that. I’ll admit, it took me nearly three hours, I was doubting myself the whole way, and when I woke up at 5:00 am, running was the last thing I wanted to do.

But I did it.

Somewhere along the way, I found the strength. I made coffee. I ate breakfast. I slipped into some shorts and laced up my pink and white Asics. I opened the front door and was astonished by the sight of intense fog and cool air.

It’s too foggy, too early, too hard. It’s such a long distance, I’m not prepared, and I really don’t want to.

Behind all those excuses, though, what I was really feeling was fear. It’s too scary. I was scared of the physical pain I might feel: the exhaustion, the soreness. I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to do it, scared that I would chicken out. But, by making excuses, I was indulging in my biggest fear.

But I did it.

And it was amazing.

Afterwards? I re-fueled with vitamins. Then, I laid down in my bed, closed the door, turned off the lights, and read some Harry Potter. No shame.

Sunday, I ran farther than I ever had run in my entire life, and I proved to myself that I, indeed, am capable. The impossible is, indeed, possible.

Lesson learned? Don’t doubt myself.

-Alexandra

