gâteau à la santé

by Alexandra

I always find myself saying I’m not a cake person. “I don’t like cupcakes. I’m not a fan of cake. Cakes aren’t my favorite;” That is a lie. I am just very particular about which cakes I like.

I don’t like foods that are too sweet, taste too overwhelmingly rich, or make me feel full and groggy after only a few bites. I like sweets that aren’t quite sweets. I love the sweet taste, but if it is too strong, I am turned off.

But when I find that balance of bitter chocolate, light, fluffy texture and perfect sweetness, I’m hooked.

This recipe is wonderful. I tweaked it here and there and found the perfect balance of everything to suit my tastes, and I have a new favorite recipe. I assure you, this doesn’t happen very often!

Chocolate Zucchini Loaf Cake (adapted)

21/2  c. all-purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 1/2 c. shredded raw zucchini
1/4 c. walnut oil
1/2 c. applesauce
1/4 c. granulated sugar
1/4 c. brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 c. semi sweet or dark chocolate chips
1. preheat oven to 350 and grease a loaf pan. sift together first 7 ingredients. set aside.
2. using a hand mixer, beat the oil, applesauce, sugars, eggs, and vanilla for about 2 min.
3. fold in zucchini, add the flour mixture, beating just until combined. fold in chocolate chips.
4. pour mixture into prepared pan and bake for 55 to 65 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.
5. remove from oven and place pan on a wire rack to cool for at least 15 min. then transfer from pan to wire rack and let cool completely. store in fridge when cool.

-Alexandra

