pain de maïs

by Alexandra

 Cornbread is, undoubtedly, one of my family’s favorite comfort foods. Something about it’s delicate balance of sweet and salty, so wonderfully complimented by the spongy texture just blows me away.

When I saw this recipe for Cheddar Cornbread, I had no choice — I simply had to try it! It includes zesty green chiles and sharp cheddar cheese. mmmmmmmmmh!

It’s the perfect compliment to any meal, especially chili, beans or other tomato-y foods. My favorite way to eat it is with butter and honey and a big glass of milk!

I’m obviously on quite the cornbread-kick because it’s only been a few days since I finished off the last of these muffins! But, what can I say? It’s just that good, and this is the perfect time of year for home style cornbread!

Green Chile Cheddar Cornbread
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1 cup all purpose flour (I used whole wheat)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/4 cup sugar
1 (heaping) cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
1 4-oz can diced green chilies
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk (I just used regular 2% milk)
1/2 stick butter, melted
Directions:
Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
Whisk together the cornmeal, flour, cheese, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar. Add the chilies, buttermilk, eggs and melted butter and mix well to combine.
Pour batter into a greased 9 inch casserole dish and bake for 30 minutes until golden brown.
Serve warm with honey.

-Alexandra


