fruits à noyau

by Alexandra

It is so that I discovered, after two days’ sitting atop the counter, that my last batch of muffins didn’t turn out so well. Perhaps it was the many substitutions, the omission of ingredients I lacked, or simply my personal tastes, but I tossed the last few morsels and decided to try something new.

I’m a cornbread-type gal. I always have been, and I quite anticipate that I always will be. Upon flipping through my mother’s old Betty Crocker Cookbook, I found a recipe for “Cornettes” that tickled my fancy.

The recipe called for bacon, and indeed I had none. That was my portal for further tweaks and adjustments. This time, they turned out wonderfully, and now I have a breakfast stand chock full of fresh apricot-peach cornettes.

They go well with tea and a modest drizzle of raspberry honey, a good book and a gaze out the afternoon window.

The best part? Baking them couldn’t get any easier!

Peach-Apricot Cornettes
 
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup brown sugar
4 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1/4 cup walnut oil (or salad oil)
2 small fresh apricots, halved, pitted and chopped
2 small (or 1 large) fresh peach, halved, pitted and chopped
 
Preheat oven to 425 degrees and line 16 muffin-tins with papers.
 
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, salt, sugar and baking soda. Set aside. In a measuring cup, whisk milk and eggs. Add oil and mix well. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients all at once and mix just until combined. 
Spoon batter into muffin tins, sprinkle chopped fruit on top (it will sink down) making sure to evenly distribute it among all 16 muffins.
Bake for 20-25 minutes until tops are golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool completely on wire cooling racks.
 
Makes 16
 

-Alexandra

