spontané

by Alexandra

The fruits of hands-on labor:

Yesterday, as I meandered through a local forest preserve with my pup, I let my thoughts wander a bit. Maybe it was the rustic houses, or perhaps the many fallen birch trees I came across, but I couldn’t get this blog post off my mind. It inspired me the minute I laid eyes on the first photo. My immediate thought: I need one. Now.

The only problem was that I didn’t have a wooden table to “farmhouse-ify.” That only meant one thing: I simply had to make my own, “from scratch.” When I got back from my long, walk in the forest, make my own was exactly what I did. For an hour and a half of dragging wood across the yard (and getting knocked in the head by falling branches), measuring, sawing and drilling, I think it turned out pretty well!

I used old ply wood scraps for the table top and reinforcements; the legs are logs extracted from a fallen tree in my backyard. After sawing, sanding and assembly, I am allowing the wood to dry out for about a week because it has been sitting outside absorbing moisture since last summer. Next weekend I plan to apply a few coats of waterproof sealant.

I had originally intended for a (to be frank) table-sized table as seen in the blog post, but lack of wood (and wood sturdiness) sort of prevented that. Perhaps I will try again over the summer but for now, it definitely suffices for picture-taking purposes and I must say, I am quite pleased with my handiwork.

Knowing me and my fancy for petites, I actually quite like sitting on a mini chair to eat my dinner upon the fresh-smelling wood despite the table’s smaller size. At least I was given a small stature of my own; I guess it would be accurate to describe my inclination toward use of scaled down versions as somewhat befitting.

Interestingly, though, I believe I learned a valuable life lesson from this whole table-building experience: I should follow my heart when it wanders. Spontaneity should be embraced. I can assure you that when I woke up yesterday morning, I had no thoughts of building a table in the evening — it just sort of happened. When I was walking with my dog, I realized that it was something I would quite enjoy, and so I went for it. It certainly turned out well. Indeed, it might be ‘pushing it’ a little to claim that building tables can lead to immense life realizations but hey, sometimes it really is important to just do what you want and leave the rest for later.

-Alexandra

