☼04.15.11

by Alexandra

♥Happy Friday everyone!

I started my very early morning with a wonderful breakfast! My dad was home this morning so, planning ahead, I made my first bowl of real “Swiss Oats” and I loved it! For two servings, I used 1 Stonyfield Farms Vanilla Yogurt, 3/4 cup of milk, 2 cups chopped fresh strawberries and 2/3 cup rolled oats. I divided the mixture into my two biggest mugs and refrigerated them overnight. In the morning I added banana slices and cashews!

These coconut-rolled “Yumnuts” cashews made an excellent oatmeal topper this morning! They are really crisp and crunchy, unlike regular roasted cashews. Iinteresting and delicious! Although they’re sweetened, they don’t taste too sweet and only have 4 grams of added sugar per 1/4 cup.

They’re also great on top of Cappuccino Chip Frozen Yogurt! 🙂

Well, I took a break from my half-marathon training this week. After my race on Sunday, I started feeling pretty sick. I was fatigued and had low energy levels, and on Monday my stomach was really upset and I felt really ache-y. Tuesday morning I did about 20 minutes on the elliptical trainer and took a brisk 10 minute walk but my body felt so tired that I had to just stop. Due to my sickness, this week I bypassed my workouts to try to rest and recover. I haven’t been sleeping well, so at least I was able to relax a bit and take it easy even if I didn’t get much sleep. Today, though, I’m heading to the pool to do some laps and get my blood pumping! I’m feeling somewhat better, and my legs have been craving some “action.” 🙂

Today I tried the Chocolate Chip Brownie Larabar and it was amazing! When I first tried the Jocalats, I wasn’t much of a fan — I really only liked the German Chocolate Cake flavor. But, this bar took healthy chocolate bar to a whole new level! It actually tasted like a brownie! I must say that Larabar and Purebar have come quite a way with their chocolate bars. The brownie Purebar doesn’t taste like a brownie at all to me, but I tried the Chocolate Almond Natural flavor that I ordered online and it blew me away! I honestly wasn’t expecting much, but both of these bars are excellent! They are my top two chocolate fruit & nut bars! I love buying and trying new bars, but what I love even more is when I buy them, try them, and love them!

Another new food I’ve tried lately came from NavitasNaturals. I was instantly intrigued by their Golden Berries when I heard of them, and I simply had to get my hands on some — so I did, along with a few other items! The Golden berries are very chewy and not too sweet. They taste somewhat like a mix between a dried apricot and a goji berry. They’re different, but good!

I had them on top of a bowl of oats (go figure, right?) with PB&Co Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter (love) loads of cinnamon, chopped pink apple and shredded bosc pear. This combo was great but the best part was the peanut butter! I probably bore you with my endless praises for PB&Co but seriously, these people know their peanut butter! The jars are actually pretty affordable and accessible too. I buy mine at Meijer or Jewel, and of course Whole Foods as a last resort for flavors I can’t find elsewhere. When the PB melts all over the oats, it tastes just like icing on a delicious oatmeal cake! It’s perfectly sweet and extremely decadent, and the flavors are so original! Everyone knows that chocolate goes with peanut butter, but it’s not every day that you find a jar of Maple Peanut Butter (yet to try) or White Chocolate Peanut Butter (favorite) or Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter! PB&Co is the best ever! Trust me on this one! I know my yogurt and and I know my PB! Chobani, PB&Co and I were made for one-another!

This colorful spring salad made a great dinner a few nights ago. Sweet corn, tomatoes, green peppers, scallions, grilled chicken and spinach are all in the mix, along with crushed red pepper, garlic powder, black pepper, cilantro and paprika! Yum! I sipped a Zevia Ginger Ale alongside. It was my first time trying one of those too — I found a 6-pack on sale for only $1.99 at my grocery store! What a steal! It was good, with lots of ginger flavor and an unbeatable price! It’s also a good alternative to diet coke, seeing as I am entering the weaning process. 🙂 I don’t like putting so many horrific chemicals (read: aspartame, saccharin, sucralose) into my body.

Well, I’m off to the gym for a much needed exercise session, that may or may not be followed up with a good, long sit in the sauna.

Hasta la vista, bloggees!

-Alexandra

