♥04.09.11

by Alexandra

Good morning lovies!

This morning I made breakfast for my dad. It has kind of become our Saturday tradition! I really enjoy sharing such a delicious comfort food with someone at the start of each weekend. Mornings are always lovely in my opinion, but spending time and sharing good food with someone I love just makes it more special.

We had coconut-milky oats with ‘caramelized’ bosc pear, cinnamon, maple extract, toasted walnuts and raisins. It was such fun to eat out of these big mugs — I call them ‘facial mugs’ because they are as big as my face!

Coconut milk is amazing! It makes the oats so creamy! Even with light coconut milk, the flavor is so rich and decadent.

Tomorrow is my first race of the 2011 ‘running season.’ It’s a 5k at my local library. I am running it with my sister, and while I do have a goal time in mind, I realize that so many factors can influence my race pace. Tomorrow is supposed to be hot, humid and windy so I will be okay with not making my goal, if that happens. Even if it were to be a perfect day with perfect weather, the way I feel that day can also influence my time. Even if I don’t make sub-24:00, it will be alright with me. I have done far better than that in the past, (my record is 19:10 for 3.1 miles) so I am well aware of what I can accomplish with proper speed training. After all, this is a 5k race — somewhat of a ‘speed’ race, and my training is oriented toward a 1/2-marathon. I’m going into it with the mentality of “let’s see what I can do.” My goal time comes from my goal time for my 1/2 marathon of 8-minute mile pace. Train at the level you want to perform at, right?

I tried this Blueberry Muffin Larabar for the first time a few days ago and I loved it. One of my friends described it perfectly — “Like Cashew Cookie with Blueberry Muffin thrown in!” That was just what it tasted like! The blueberry flavor wasn’t all that prominent, but it was still tasty! Larabars are amazing; How can you beat their ingredient list? This bar is made from only: dates, cashews, blueberries, blueberry juice concentrate, lemon juice concentrate and vanilla extract. 6 ingredients! That’s extremely impressive.

I’ve really been on a blueberry kick lately! I cooked yesterday’s oats with a blueberry tea bag steeped into the cooking liquid! I also added banana, plum, white chocolate wonderful peanut butter and dried blueberries! These are heavenly! I tried them for the first time yesterday and I instantly fell in love. They are officially my new favorite dried fruit! Sorry, dates!

I’ve made quite a few really great, simple meals this week. On Sunday and Monday I cooked tilapia, salmon and black beans so I would have prepared dinner all week, and it worked out perfectly! I made an amazing mustard sauce for the tilapia of lemon juice, light sour cream, Dijon mustard, garlic powder, parsley and black pepper. Pictured at the bottom!

This was grilled salmon on a bed of brown rice, freshly shaved mango and grilled squash, zucchini and carrot shreds.

A quick granola snack with some of my homemade yogurt. Please let me know if you try making yogurt! I’m interested to see how it works out for all of you!

For lunch one day this week, I made a grilled tilapia sandwich on TJ‘s sprouted rye bread. This was my first time ever trying sprouted-grain bread and I loved it! One slice has 5 grams of protein and 2-3 grams of fiber! Amazing! This sandwich also had Dijon mustard, slices of white onion and crisp alfalfa sprouts. Have I mentioned that Trader Joe should be my boyfriend? 🙂

Lastly, the aforementioned tilapia dinner, accompanied by brown rice, grilled zucchini and iced spearmint-green tea.

bon appetit!

-Alexandra

