Blah and Stuff

by Alexandra

Hi there!

I’ll begin with breakfast, my favorite meal of the day, at my favorite time of day! I am definitely a morning person! This morning was especially sweet, because my bowl of whipped-banana oats had peaches, raisins , cinnamon and crumbly cashew butter! It was fantastic! I had an unopened bag of fro-peaches in the freezer for months and I finally cracked into it this morning, and I’m so glad I did! This bowl tasted like dream-cake, whatever that is!

Today was nice and lazy — after my run that is! For my 1/2 marathon training I only had two miles scheduled today, so I really hit them hard! I didn’t time myself per-say, but I certainly pushed my limits. It felt so good afterwards and I was quite proud of myself. My first 5k race of this spring season is next Sunday, so it’s about time that I start running hard, gosh!

Yesterday for dinner I made two variations of pizza. Unfortunately my pictures didn’t turn out and I’m too embarrassed to post them, but let me tell you, this crust is amazing. There’s a garlic-herb white crust and a honey-wheat crust. Both are amazing in my opinion, topped with basic pizza sauce, grilled veggies, cubed chicken and shredded cheese! recipes at the bottom.

Today I want to talk about yogurt. I am a huge Greek Yogurt fan, and Chobani holds a very special place in my foodie-heart! It has always been my favorite brand and I am psyched that the company has put out so many new flavors! I am in the process of trying each new flavor, and today I had the black cherry 0%. It was amazing! It had deliciously strong cherry flavor but with the perfect amount of sweetness! I stirred carob chips and raisins into the 1/2 frozen yogurt and it was a delicious night time snack! I highly recommend this flavor. Take my word for it — Chobani rocks!

At Whole Foods earlier this week I picked up a Blueberry Crisp Clifbar. Maple Nut has always been my favorite clif, and for some reason I didn’t have high expectations for this flavor but it blew me away. The texture was like sweet, crumbly pie, the flavor was filled with such blueberry intensity I could barely believe my taste buds and the aroma was simply heavenly. I am pretty sure I like this flavor as much as my beloved Maple Nut, and if not, it’s a very close second! I have a lot more bars to try from my Whole Foods extravaganza, and I just ordered a box of the new Pure Naturals, so I’ll let you all know how they are!

-Alexandra

Honey-Wheat Crust:

3/4 cup warm water, 1 tbs honey, 2 tbs olive oil, 1 packet active dry yeast, 1 6oz container plain 2% Chobani yogurt, 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/2 tsp salt

Garlic-Herb White Crust:

1/2 cup warm water, 1/2 cup warm milk, 1 tbs sugar, 2 tbs olive oil, 1 packet active dry yeast, 1 6oz container 2% Chobani yogurt, 2 cups bread flour, 1 tsp salt, 1 tbs dried basil, 1 tbs dried parsley, 3 tbs Parmesan cheese

To make crust, dissolve yeast and sugar/honey in warm water/milk. Whisk and set aside for 4-5 minutes. Stir in the yogurt, salt (and spices/Parmesan) and whisk in 1/2 cup of the flour. Using a spatula, mix in the remaining 1.5 cups of flour and mix well with the spatula. Avoid using hands to mix because the dough is very sticky! Allow the dough to rise, covered, in a very warm place for at least 30 minutes.

Sprinkle cornmeal on a cookie sheet and spread risen dough onto the cookie sheet to desired thickness. (1/2 inch minimum) Bake in a preheated 350-degree oven for 8 minutes. Remove and cool. Crust can then be topped with sauce/veggies/meat/cheese and baked for an additional 20 minutes in a 375-degree oven.

enjoy!

