Carrots ‘n’ Cake

by Alexandra

I don’t meant to confuse you or anything, but this plate of peanut butter/banana protein pancakes, fresh ruby-red strawberries and steaming hot coffee wasn’t my breakfast! It was, in fact, my breakfast after my breakfast, after my run!

Today was the first day of the half marathon training!

3 miles, an ab-workout, and some intense stretching! I’m off to a good start!

after my breakfast, which consisted of rolled oats, honey and coconut butter, my morning run, my second breakfast, and a bunch of homework, I made some carrot cake!

I actually wouldn’t call it actual carrot cake — it is, more or less, carrot-cake-bread. It’s delicious and rich and decadent and amazing but it’s not actual cake. It was also baked in a bread pan!

as delicious as these are, it was nothing like a larabar!

The “bread/cake” can be dressed up or down easily. It’s not too sweet, but it’s filled with flavor and is super moist! I made a turkey sandwich on it for lunch, but I also lathered on some homemade cream cheese frosting for dessert!

I am a huge fan of carrot cake. Although my few attempts at carrot cake oats have failed miserably, I have succeeded in making real carrot cake:

BOMB carrot cake muffins:

and now, carrot cake bread! (the photo below isn’t carrot cake bread, but it looks similar. lol)

This is a must-try recipe! I’m serious!

Carrot Cake Bread

1-1/2 cups whole spelt flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup shredded fresh pineapple

2 carrots, grated

1/3 cup walnut butter, canola oil, or other nut butter

½ cup applesauce

2 eggs

½ brown sugar

In a large bowl, whisk the walnut butter, applesauce, eggs and vanilla. Mix in sugar. In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Slowly add to the wet mixture, mixing well after each addition. Stir in shredded carrots and pineapple. Pour into a bread loaf pan and bake in a 350-degree oven for 50 minutes.

 

