Pancakes, Yoga and Superbowl

by Alexandra

I’m pretty sure this morning’s breakfast was the best ever!

In honor of Pancake Sunday, I made some Reese’s Pancakes, and they’re gluten free!

Unfortunately, there were two (slightly major) mishaps with making this recipe:

A) The pancakes are quite unsightly not exactly picturesque.

B) My finger got in a fight with the immersion blender

Note to self: always unplug blender before putting appendages by the blade.

Don’t ask me how that happened… 🙂

Anyway, the recipe is as follows:

Gluten Free Reese’s Pancakes for One:

1/2 ripe banana

2 egg whites (or one whole egg)

1.5 tbs cocoa powder

1 teaspoon cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

pinch salt

pinch cinnamon

optional: 1 packet truvia, or 1 teaspoon maple syrup or agave

Peanut Butter

In a medium(ish) bowl, whip egg whites and banana with immersion blender. (Do not put your finger in!) When fluffy and completely combined (no lumps! Oh, and don’t be surprised by the volume) Add cocoa, cornstarch, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and sweetener (if desired). Mix very well.

Heat a large nonstick skillet and spray lightly with cooking spray. Pour 1/2 the batter onto the skillet, and cook for about 1 minute on each side. Remove from pan, add remaining batter and repeat.

Spread peanut butter on pancakes, fold in half, devour!

This recipe serves one, can easily be doubled, is high in protein, low in sugar, and tastes superb! I made 2 large pancakes, but you could easily make smaller ones. I would just suggest that you cook them for a shorter period of time!

Anyhow,

I’ve been doing a lot of yoga lately! I really want to be super flexible, and to be a full-blown “yogini!” I always feel so good after yoga, and it really does balance the mind/body. I cannot express my immense new-found love for yoga practice!

My Goals:

Of course this will require a lot of time and perseverance, but I’m 100% willing to do it! I’m pumped!

So: the Superbowl is today!

Has anyone else noticed that Superbowl spells “Superb Owl”?

Owls are most definitely superb!

Well, I’m off to make some Loaded Nachos and Naughty Girl Fudge!

Oh, and some cookies for my “tutor-ee.” I’m always so last minute with the poor guy. Oh, freshmen!

♥Alexandra

