New Year’s Resolutions

by Alexandra

During my wonderful trip to the Big Apple, I came across a quaint little cookbook. The adorable covers and sturdy hard cover binding of the tiny book caught my eye when I was browsing through a bookstore in Brooklyn. It was pretty, but a bit pricey, so I carried on.

The next day, I saw four more copies at different bookstores, and each one caught my eye just as easily. The beautiful photos and delicious recipes were equally enticing, and I decided it was destiny. I am now short $25, but I am a whole book of recipes richer! Thanks to Alice’s Tea Cup, I have a new challenge for the new year! Cook every recipe, and “healthify” the not-so-healthy ones, if I feel like it 🙂

Today I made the very first recipe: Pumpkin Scones

I ditched the caramel sauce, because I don’t really like super-sugary and rich foods for breakfast, but they were delicious! Spicy and only mildly sweet, these pumpkin scones are to die for!

I substituted different flours, reduced the amount of cinnamon/ginger, omitted the salt and halved the recipe.

Here’s what (Alice and) I came up with:

1-1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons turbinado sugar

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1-1/4 teaspoons baking powder

1-1/2 tablespoons ground ginger

1-1/2 tablepsoons cinnamon

3/8 cup butter, cut into tiny pieces

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Sift dry ingredients together, and with dry hands ,work the butter into the dry mixture until the texture resembles fine breadcrumbs.

Make a well in the center, pour in the buttermilk, pumpkin puree and vanilla and mix with a spatula. Do not over mix!

Spoon batter into 8 mounds on an ungreased cookie sheet. Form into desired shape, and bake for 12 minutes. Cool on cookie sheet.

These scones are fluffy and moist — not dry at all, like typical scones!

In the original recipe, a stiff dough was supposed to be formed, then patted into disk and cut using biscuit cutters. Somewhere between swapping flours and halving the recipe, something was altered such that I had a thick batter instead of stiff dough. My scones still came out beautifully, though.

I gave some away, because there’s no way I could eat 8 scones by myself before they went bad. I whipped up maple icing for my friends to go with the pumpkin scones.

Maple Icing: for four 3-inch scones

3 tablespoons cream cheese, softened (I used 1/3 fat Philadelphia)

3 tablespoons butter, softened

2/3 cup powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon natural maple extract

Whip cream cheese and butter, and stir in the maple extract. Stir in the powdered sugar and mix well. Immediately ice the warm scones, or store in the refrigerator for up to two weeks.

Happy New Year!

(and expect to see more of “Alice” bopping around this blog in the new year!)

