Banana and Nutella Swirl Muffins

by Alexandra

A few years ago, I used to go through multiple jars of Nutella each month. I loved in on toast, bagels, muffins, etc. My favorite way to eat it though, was straight-up.

Then I went through a phase where I didn’t buy Nutella — almost a year! I just recently bought a jar, and I learned that my tastes have changed. After eating a spoonful of the silky chocolate spread, I was nauseated almost, and it seemed almost sickeningly sweet. So what was I to do with it?

Bake. obviously.

Banana-Nutella Swirl Muffins:

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 2/3 cup 2% milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 3/4 cup whole spelt flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 5 tablespoons Nutella

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a medium bowl, mash bananas. Whisk in eggs, milk, cinnamon and vanilla. Set aside.

In another bowl, sift together baking soda, spelt flour and oat flour. Add the banana mixture all at once to the flour mixture. Stir just until combined.

Line 15 muffin cups with muffin papers. Spoon batter evenly amongst all 15. Top each muffin with 1 teaspoon of Nutella.  Insert muffins into oven and bake for 5 minutes.

After 5 minutes, use a toothpick to swirl the melted Nutella into the muffin batter. A majority of the Nutella will sink into the middle of the muffin. This is okay!

After swirling, return muffins to oven and bake for another 12-15 minutes, until muffins are lightly golden on top, and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in pan for 5 minutes, then remove and cool to room temperature before serving.


