Food Review: Kashi Go Lean! Crunch

by Alexandra

I recently purchased a box of Kashi Go Lean Crunch. I highly recommend it. Here’s why:

I love it because it has 9 whopping grams of protein and 8 grams of fiber. That’s excellent for a cereal, especially a cold cereal. The ingredient list is very short, doesn’t contain any chemically preservatives or additives, is naturally sweetened with brown rice syrup and evaporated cane juice rather than HFCS, and has 7 amazing whole grains. It tastes delicious (I love cinnamon) and boasts a satisfying crunch in every cluster and every crumb. There’s an excellent size variety with regards to cluster, as well. The cereal is very filling, and it sustains my satiety for quite a while. Contrary to popular belief, I would never equate this cereal to cardboard, ever!

One thing I noticed, though, is that the cereal is very sweet when eaten by itself. I like to add cereal to yogurt or oats or use it as a smoothie topper, so the sweetness balances out in that sense. I’m sure it does the same when eaten with milk, but I don’t generally eat cold cereals like that.

I give this cereal an A, 4.5 stars, and definitely recommend it!

I had some this morning atop some blueberry oat meal with a bit of skim milk and coconut butter!

