Heartwarming Pancakes

by Alexandra

As you may know, breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.
There is one VERY important element that my breakfasts must meet, though, and that is what I call the “sticky property.”
My breakfasts must always feel as though they are sticking to my ribs (keeping me full) without actually sticking to my ribs, because, well, that just wouldn’t be pleasant, now would it?
These pancakes are filling, nutritious, fat free, and definitely have the “sticky property.”

The Method:
.
In a bowl, combine 3/4 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup oats, 1 egg white and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. With an immersion blender (or food processor or regular blender) blend the mixture until it is liquified. Then, stir in 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teapoon of nutmeg, and 1 teaspoon of baking powder. Mix well.
Slowly stir in 3/4 cup of whole wheat pastry flour, and combine until just moistened. Be careful not to over mix.
.
Pour 2-4 tablespoons of batter onto a hot, nonstick frying pan (sprayed lightly with cooking spray) and cok the pancakes for 1-2 minutes on each side. Serve hot.

I love to make a “peanutbutter frosting” for toast, pancakes, muffins, etc. It’s super easy. Simply mix 2-3 tablespoons of plain greek yogurt with 1 teaspoon of peanut butter. Spread onto your baked goods, and enjoy! This “frosting” is packed with protein, calcium, and a little healthy fat for that “stick to your ribs” feeling.

Pancakes with peanut butter “frosting” and sliced strawberries

heavenly.

