Chipotle Cheddar Quesadillas

by Alexandra

One of the things that excites me the most about Spring, is the promise of Summer.
Summer, to me, is late night adventures with friends, seasonal holiday, and delicious food.
One of my favorite “genres” of summer cuisine:
Mexican Food
.
The beautiful seventy-degree weather had me craving something caliente
something reminiscent of a fresco summer night:


Chipotle Cheddar Quesadillas

The star:

I found these Adobo-Chipotles in the Ethnic Foods section of my local Meijer.
They look welcoming, and not-too-dangerous, right?
Wrong.
I made the mistake of sampling some of this stuff plain. My taste buds are still suffering.
This is the epitome of SPICY!
.
.
The Quesadillas themselves are fairly simple to make:
.
Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
In a small bowl, mix about 1/2 cup of fat free refried beans with 1-2 tablespoons of the chipotle peppers, 1-2 tablespoons of ketchup or Sweet Baby Ray’s Barbeque sauce, a few drops of liquid smoke, a tablespoon of romano cheese and 1/4 teaspoon of cumin.
Spread the mixture on a whole wheat tortilla, top with 1-2 ounces of cooked chicken, and 1/2 cup of low-fat Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese.
Top with another whole wheat tortilla, and place on a lightly greased cookie sheet.
Bake at 450 degrees for 8-10 minutes, or until cheese is melted and tortilla is crisp.

Serve with salsa, or diced avocado tossed with lime juice, garlic and black pepper.
.
Quarter, and serve.


Beautiful.
