Chocolate Chip Cookies a la Martha Stewart

by Alexandra

First off, I have to say that this is not my recipe. I got it from here. Well, I got the idea from there, anyways.
Generally speaking, all the recipes on this blog are my own, but this particular one was inspired by Martha Stewart. (Note: her recipe called for all-purpose flour, a bit too much of this, a bit too much of that…etc. Naturally, I had to alter it to suit my needs. )

Featured ingredient: Brown Rice Syrup.
It was my first time working with the goopy golden splendor, and I was completely and utterly suprised when I sampled some and found that it tastes like Wheaties. “What?”
Apparently it is the source of the mildly sweet taste in bran flakes and wheaties. Interesting.

For some natural chocolate chip cookies, combine 1/4 cup canola or olive oil with 1/4 cup brown rice syrup in a medium bowl. Whisk in some vanilla extract, 1/2 tablespoon water, a little cinnamon, 1/2 egg (I halved the recipe) a bit of salt and 1/4 cup light brown sugar.

Mix it well!

Add 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup oat flour, along with 1/2 teaspoon baking soda.
Chop up 2.5 ounces bittersweet baking chocolate (70% cacao or more) and 1/3 cup natural almonds. Fold them into the batter/dough.

Chill the dough for at least on hour (or overnight) and dollop teaspoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for 10-13 minutes or until golden brown.

75 calories per cookie.
Honestly, at first, I wasn’t much a fan of these cookies. When they were warm, they were dry and crumbly and kind of weird chewy crunchy. (not the yummy kind of chewy)
However, I let them sit in a container over night, and they crisped up nicely, and they’re nice and crunchy. I like them a lot! They are a very good, whole-grain, crunchy tasty cookie!

Enjoy!

